Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

battery amps drop, told to add second ground line

Discussion in 'Help Wanted' started by Coolbreezin, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Sometimes when I hit the slam button, my battery amps drop and stay around 8. I have power, but not enough to even click. Jump starts dont help. I replace the battery and all is fine. Ive gone through 4 in the past year. Those four were 310cca from Advance Auto. I believe it was the batteries. I purchased todays battery and was told by the motorcycle shop owner that I need to ground to the frame also. He said the battery couldnt handle the load. Two ground lines? I fail to see how that would help.
     
    chubs likes this.
  2. woodbutcher

    woodbutcher Mr. Old Fart member #145
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,954
    Likes Received:
    3,086
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    hilton head is., sc
    My Bike(s):
    black cherry '07 K9
    First Name:
    Tom
    sounds like a "cover your ass" moment. won't hurt, probably won't help if you have a large enough gauge cable as the original. make sure the cable is attached to a good clean surface on the frame.
     
    Big D Florida and chubs like this.
  3. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Active Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    811
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    It actually makes sense.
    The second cable to the ground lowers the resistance from the battery to the bike and starter.
    I'd also check the power cable to the starter and after all that trouble I'd probably replace it to be safe and make sure everything is clean and making a good PHYSICAL connection. 4 batteries in a year is very drastic.
    Were they all from the same store (perhaps same batch of batteries -- its possible there was a bad run, seen it happen).

    With a fresh battery how easy or hard does it start -- with that much battery trouble you may have damaged the starter (been there -- done that). Check with Wild Steed worx and see if he's rebuilding them these days or has one already done -- if not try shovelheadkicker on ebay (derek and donna).

    Oh and it's your voltage that drops to 8 not the amps.

    Do you leave the battery on a tender or not?
     
    chubs likes this.
  4. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Wood butcher, thank you. Ive heard the "two grounds" years ago. But I just dont get it. Ive been using 2 gauge power and ground lines for 4 years. The ground is connected to the starter mount bolt and has been for 12 years now. Its just those 4 batteries. All from the same manufacturer and the same run. Well see if this battery does it too.
     
    chubs likes this.
  5. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Jersey, thank you for the correction. Bike has always been on a tender since day one. The bike always starts fast and smooth, even with the batteries in question. Then all of a sudden it just doesnt have anymore oomph. It doesnt matter about engine or outside temp. Ill check my cables and connections.
     
    chubs likes this.
  6. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Active Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    811
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    Sounds like you found a bad run of batteries.
    I had my series of problems over the years myself with both my BMC and my first Big Dog.
    I since have gone to Braille for battery and no more problems and while they cost more I'm getting more years out of them as well. Before it was once a year -- gets old real fast.
     
    BadDawg Bill and chubs like this.
  7. Mr. Wright

    Mr. Wright Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    6,306
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Salem, Missouri
    My Bike(s):
    03 BD Chopper - 2002 1100 v-star
    First Name:
    Shannon
    It could be something like I ran into a while back on a guys bike. The connector on the end of the cable was corroded where the cable fits into the connector.
     
    BadDawg Bill and chubs like this.
  8. woodbutcher

    woodbutcher Mr. Old Fart member #145
    Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,954
    Likes Received:
    3,086
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    hilton head is., sc
    My Bike(s):
    black cherry '07 K9
    First Name:
    Tom
    ohm out your cables to see if there may be corrosion inside the insulation that is not visible, and see if you have any stiff sections in the cable. that could indicate corrosion also. while you're at it with the meter, check the output of the VR and the stator. may just not be enough to keep the battery charged.
     
  9. FrankBDPS

    FrankBDPS Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    2,985
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Navarre,Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    2ooo ProSport 1997 Honda Night Hawk
    First Name:
    Frank
    You said that all of a sudden it dosent have any oomph. Does that mean this is a new issue? If it is maybe you're compression releases have quit working. There should be a second ground going to the frame. That would insure that you're control circuits and lights are properly grounded and not seeking ground back thru you're motor mount bolts and engine case. Good luck!
     
    chubs and Big D Florida like this.
  10. Olde Man

    Olde Man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    My Bike(s):
    2006 K-9
    First Name:
    John
    Where is it going? This is how to find where the voltage drop is taking place. Place one lead of your voltmeter on the battery negative terminal. The battery post. Hold the other lead on the starter by the ground lug and have someone try to start the bike. If all of the connections between the post and the starter are good you will read a small voltage reading probably 1 volt or less. If you read more you need to find out where it is. Read from the center of the battery post to the clamp around the post while trying to start the bike. Do the same on the positive terminal as well. When ever you test the voltage drop on the battery always go to the posts so you know you are reading the battery. Read between the posts if you want to check the cable clamps. If you do this test before you wiggle and tighten thing up you will know that you have found the problem and just not "think" it is fixed.
     
    chubs and BadDawg Bill like this.
  11. Marky-Marc

    Marky-Marc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Des Moines, IA
    My Bike(s):
    2005 Big Dog Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Marc
    If you've gone through multiple batteries, I would also check the amp draw on your starter.

    It may need rebuilding, it may be drawing too many amps and killing your battery......I believe anything over 80 is not good......
     
    woodbutcher, chubs and Big D Florida like this.
  12. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    All excellent ideas and info. Thank you.
    When I say "all of a sudden it dosent have any oomph". The easiest way to explain it is like a light bulb. It works, it works it works, then when you flip the switch it pops and no longer works. Same with the last four batteries. All is fine for a while, 1 day to multiple months, then when I go to start it, it just drops to 8 volts and thats it. When it drops and stays at 8 volts, did a cell burn out or something?
     
    chubs likes this.
  13. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18,521
    Likes Received:
    36,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    Have you had any of the battery's charged back up and load tested after this?
     
    bdm7250 and chubs like this.
  14. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    They wont recharge or jumpstart. I have to replace them.
     
    chubs likes this.
  15. pknowles

    pknowles Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,777
    Likes Received:
    12,829
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    suffolk,va.
    My Bike(s):
    07 K9, 2012 CVO Streetglide, 10 bulldog
    Are you using a trickle charger to bring it up or a regular charger. Might have to hit the boost then charge at 10 amps until it is fully charged. just a thought.
     
    bdm7250, cdogg556 and chubs like this.
  16. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Trickle. When I connect the charger to the bike the numbers on my voltmeter on the bike just randomly scroll. The yellow light on the trickle charger will flash yellow.
     
    chubs likes this.
  17. pknowles

    pknowles Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,777
    Likes Received:
    12,829
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    suffolk,va.
    My Bike(s):
    07 K9, 2012 CVO Streetglide, 10 bulldog
    you need a charger to get it built back up. I have tried the same thing and a trickle won't do the job.
     
    cdogg556, PROFLYER and chubs like this.
  18. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    Ok. I have one. If this battery craps out, that tells me it wasnt the run of the batteries. So Ill ck the bike.

    Even if the C/R's didnt work perfectly, how would that extra strain on the battery cause it to do this?
     
    chubs likes this.
  19. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18,521
    Likes Received:
    36,460
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    When you put this battery in and start the bike, check the voltage while its running. It should be in the area of 13.5 to 14.5
     
    bdm7250, cdogg556 and chubs like this.
  20. Coolbreezin

    Coolbreezin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    410
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northeast FL
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    First Name:
    Pete
    It is. I mounted a meter under the seat.
    I just remembered. I increased the power and ground wires to 2 ga. I did that years ago. Do I still need another ground line?
     
    #20 Coolbreezin, Mar 22, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017
    BWG56 and chubs like this.

Share This Page