Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Charging stator /rotor issue

Discussion in 'General' started by Jwooky, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    Bike was not charging. Checked for AC voltage at stator and it was 0.

    Replaced the stator with new compufire stator and checked for AC voltage at stator and it was still zero. . WTF?

    Can rotors go bad? Their is nothing left??

    The rotor was still magnetic. I don’t get it.
     
  2. SKOGDOG

    SKOGDOG One of the old ones.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    1,903
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pittsburg,Kansas
    My Bike(s):
    2008 K9-2010 Bulldog Bagger
    First Name:
    Rick
    I had a rotor fail and had to replace it in Dallas. Lucky I made it to Stroker's and they had one in stock. The bike ('08 K9) had about 60K miles at the time. Mine still had magnetic too, but it was bad--never did figure it all out. But it's been flawless since.
    It has all taught me that it wants a new battery every year...regardless.
     
  3. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    Hard to understand. Have never heard of one going bad. What could go wrong? Magnets get weak? How do you test for that?
     
  4. pknowles

    pknowles Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10,610
    Likes Received:
    14,283
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    suffolk,va.
    My Bike(s):
    07 K9, 2012 CVO Streetglide, 10 bulldog
    First Name:
    paul
    [​IMG]I know this is primitive but the insulator between the metal bars can break down and have to either be replaced or repaired
     
  5. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    must have a block, still not seeing it.
     
  6. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,319
    Likes Received:
    15,305
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    The magnets do wear down. If the magnet gets worn down over time and when the distance is too much it won't allow for the electricity to generate.

    In Rick's example above I was at Strokers and his magnet was very well worn. It was the OEM rotor and Id say it probably only had about 50% of the height of the magnet when compared to the new one.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  7. 07bigdog

    07bigdog 07BIGDOG

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Winnipeg,Manitoba, Canada
    My Bike(s):
    07 k9
    First Name:
    Ken
    I also had a stator failure. As soon as the bike got warm, it would shut down. Let it cool off, and would start right up. Put everything back together and same problem. Changed rotor and all good.
     
  8. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,319
    Likes Received:
    15,305
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    That's rather an odd one...seems something else at play but won't argue with what worked for you.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  9. pknowles

    pknowles Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10,610
    Likes Received:
    14,283
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    suffolk,va.
    My Bike(s):
    07 K9, 2012 CVO Streetglide, 10 bulldog
    First Name:
    paul
    no blocks from my end ,
     
  10. heybaylor

    heybaylor Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    East Texas
    My Bike(s):
    Fatboy,Sportster,CX500, 2001 Pitbulll
    First Name:
    Carl
    ?? how does the magnet wear ? there is no contact,just spins in the air.
    maybe if a foreign object got in the air gap ?
     
    Jwooky and chubs like this.
  11. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    1,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    ^^my thoughts too?

    Anyone know what the thickness should be?
     
  12. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,446
    Likes Received:
    39,382
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    Regular movements, huh?;)
     
  13. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,446
    Likes Received:
    39,382
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    You would be surprised when you take it off to see all the metal sludge so to speak, attached to it because of the magnetism. Just like the build up on the magnet drain plug.
     
    TapioK likes this.
  14. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,319
    Likes Received:
    15,305
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Heat too..

    Also it's very possible that your new stator isn't sized to the rotor right. Meaning the air gap between the two is too large. Your new stator may be a bit smaller than OEM, and subsequently the matching rotor to your stator would be slightly thicker?

    There is varying sizes cause manufacturer want you to buy both parts!

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    #14 Th3InfamousI, Oct 12, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  15. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,446
    Likes Received:
    39,382
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    :old2:Why would you not buy the matching components, sometimes it causes you more grief than its worth.
     
    dentdude36 likes this.
  16. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Active Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    Magnetic fields are effected by heat -- this scenario makes perfect sense.

    Personally, If I have to replace a rotor or stator I do them as a SET, it's almost always a better bet.
     
    SKOGDOG likes this.
  17. Th3InfamousI

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,319
    Likes Received:
    15,305
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Why would even a bad stator make the bike quit running? You can unplug it and it will still run, until you drain the battery. But that means it was never working in the first place.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  18. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Active Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    DIdn't by chance get a 38A stator vs the 32A -- I know the stator/rotor combo for the 38A compufire is a little different dimensions than stock -- vaguely remember a note about space in the install instructions.

    As more posts have said -- paired is always a safer bet.
     
  19. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Active Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    885
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    Well, if the regulator was damaged at the same time (in an odd method) or a really bad design and it was placing a LOAD on the electrical system you can create that failure. With our bikes EHC being soo sensitive to voltage levels its not beyond the realm of possibilities.
     
  20. heybaylor

    heybaylor Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    East Texas
    My Bike(s):
    Fatboy,Sportster,CX500, 2001 Pitbulll
    First Name:
    Carl
    Hmm, guess I now have another maintenance item, clean magnets every primary oil change
     

Share This Page