clutch problem maybe?

Energy One

kiwi

I am having a problem with my clutch. Today when sitting at the lights i noticed the bike wanting to creep forward and thought that when i get home i will adjust the clutch.went about 2 mile down the road and it was worse:bang:. carried on down the road and at the next set of lights it wanted to stall. pulled over and adjusted the cable and seemed fine so carried on to the pub, (only 2 miles) did it again sohad a beer and adjusted the cable again to try and get home . no luck so left it in first gear and just rolled through the lights. thought that it might be the lock nut on the adjuster on the push rod but it seems to be tight. now the bike is cold the clutch lever is tight again , i dont no what is going on :bang:
any ideas ?????
i am lost
and i am not a mechanic , just trying to learn

mcgroom

Do a search on this. Common problem for the newer pups. I will try and find some threads for you when I get into work if someone doesn't already beat me to it.

lee

either that or your adjuster lock nut on the cable itself isn't locked down properly but as you keep adjusting the clutch yourself that is unlikely to be the problem. Time to take the outer primary off and take a look.

V

Guru
Yep my clutch basket lock nut was loose as well. Left hand thread and minimal lock tite

phatchopper300

I just wanta ride
Just a thought but check your clutch pushrod. Do a search there is a great "how to". This could be causing either creeping or slipping of the clutch.
Hope you get it worked out.

vej

Keep us informed

Let us know what you find out. I had a stronger spring placed on my clutch and the pushrod needed adjusting.

outdoorsman26

mine did the exact same shit last yr!!! It was my clutch nut!! crank that baby to 140 ft/lbs and do a clutch adjustment!!!

C

chaingunner

mine did the exact same shit last yr!!! It was my clutch nut!! crank that baby to 140 ft/lbs and do a clutch adjustment!!!