Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

Ignition Switch

Discussion in 'General' started by BigMex, Apr 18, 2017.

  1. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    Any thoughts on a problem I'm currently having. When I turn on the ignition switch nothing happens. later when I try it everything works fine. I'm wondering if it's the switch. I'm no good at electrical problems need all the help I can get.
     
    chubs likes this.
  2. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,640
    Likes Received:
    4,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    Yeah.. definitely the switch.. I dont what set up u have but it seems to me everyone is using the factory supply switches for replacements.
     
    chubs likes this.
  3. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    I have the original switch the came with the bike. 2009 k9
     
    chubs likes this.
  4. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,640
    Likes Received:
    4,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    I'm assuming u have the original wiring is what I was getting at
     
    chubs likes this.
  5. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,640
    Likes Received:
    4,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    If so one of these guys will chime in and specify what switch from tractor supply to get if u can't figure it out. I can't help there because I have a Harley switch and wiring
     
    chubs likes this.
  6. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    Yes, all original wiring
     
    chubs likes this.
  7. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,412
    Likes Received:
    39,351
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    Are you saying the bike is completely dead, no lights or anything?
    If that's the case, unplug the switch and use a small paper clip to jump the connector to see if its the switch before replacing it.

    Tractor Supply switch for a 8N or 9N tractor

    [​IMG]
     
    francoblay1, chubs and bigkelk9 like this.
  8. bigkelk9

    bigkelk9 Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,640
    Likes Received:
    4,689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southeast Texas / Southern California
    My Bike(s):
    07 big dog k9
    First Name:
    Kel
    He just said he don't know n e thing about electrical or I woulda told him to use a jumper with some gator clips.. damnit Ker ya don't listen either!!! Bahahahaha:oldhardlaugh::oldbang:
     
    chubs likes this.
  9. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    I found the tread on the switch from tractor supply I will jumper the switch. The speedo will not turn on and sweep. Then it will work fine.
     
    chubs likes this.
  10. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,412
    Likes Received:
    39,351
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    Is that the only thing that don't work?
     
    chubs and bigkelk9 like this.
  11. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,412
    Likes Received:
    39,351
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    Hey everyone knows what a paper clip is:rolleyes::oldlaugh:
     
    chubs and bigkelk9 like this.
  12. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    Thats it, I'll get it done THANK YOU
     
    #12 BigMex, Apr 18, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
    chubs likes this.
  13. BigDogRick

    BigDogRick Active Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    525
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    My Bike(s):
    2000 Big Dog Vintage Classic, 2008 HD Fatboy
    First Name:
    Rick
    I have replaced my switch at least five times in 17 years. It is a simple on-off switch that can be replaced by any type. Once, I replaced it on the road back from Sturgis with a trucker's dash toggle that lit up and everything. Up-on. Down - off. The thing to be aware of is that the housing that holds the switch is shallow and only has room for a very short key. A key cylinder with only a couple tumblers is subject to the key wearing on the tumblers and the key falling out from vibration while you are on the road. I used a dremmel and hollowed out the back of the billet to make room for a more substantial switch that requires a longer key. Even so, they wear out with time.
     
    chubs and bigkelk9 like this.
  14. bdm7250

    bdm7250 Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    17,075
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    My Bike(s):
    2008 BD Mastiff 2008 AIH Slammer
    First Name:
    Doug
    If you want to stick with a BDM switch, DOC's has them.
     
    chubs and bigkelk9 like this.
  15. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    I will test the switch and go to Tractor supply if the don't have one I will check with DOC's
     
    chubs likes this.
  16. BigMex

    BigMex NMRIDER

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Farmington, New Mexico
    My Bike(s):
    09 K9 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
    First Name:
    Jude Sais
    I've seen the tread years ago on the modification to the switch housing. Thanks
     
    chubs likes this.
  17. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,412
    Likes Received:
    39,351
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    The switch from Tractor supply was a direct fit with nothing to modify to install except the wire splicing and its been in for 2 years and it has never fallen out. But DOC does have the OEM:old2:
     
    bigkelk9, chubs and bdm7250 like this.
  18. bdm7250

    bdm7250 Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    17,075
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    My Bike(s):
    2008 BD Mastiff 2008 AIH Slammer
    First Name:
    Doug
    Might just be my OCD but I really prefer keeping as many BDM parts as possible.
     
    bigkelk9 and chubs like this.
  19. BWG56

    BWG56 Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20,412
    Likes Received:
    39,351
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chocolatetown, PA.
    My Bike(s):
    07' Mastiff, DOC's ESC, 585DualRunner, Spyder F3T
    First Name:
    Ker
    I still have mine, ya know why? cause it wasn't my key that went bad and no one advised me at the time to jump it. So I cut it out and then replaced my EHC with the ESC, problem solved.
     
    bigkelk9, chubs and bdm7250 like this.
  20. bdm7250

    bdm7250 Guru
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    17,075
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    My Bike(s):
    2008 BD Mastiff 2008 AIH Slammer
    First Name:
    Doug
    Haste makes waste...never heard that? :oldhardlaugh:
     
    bigkelk9 and chubs like this.

Share This Page