Replacing Stator

Discussion in 'How-To' started by Pitbu1l, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. grizfish

    grizfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    SoCal
    My Bike(s):
    03 BD Chopper (all orig), 72 HD (a few orig parts)
    First Name:
    Joe
    francoblay1 likes this.
  2. prairiehorse

    prairiehorse Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    montana
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
    This write up is awesome but i cannot see the pix? What am i doing wrong? Just shows a broken page for the pix
     
  3. Brew

    Brew Troop Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12,827
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Washington State
    My Bike(s):
    08 Mastiff / 09 Softail Deluxe
    First Name:
    Rob
    Your doing nothing wrong! When the site was revamped we lost a lot of pics to the how-tos...
     
  4. prairiehorse

    prairiehorse Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    montana
    My Bike(s):
    05 Ridgeback
  5. cd24747

    cd24747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Camillus N.Y.
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Texas Chopper previously 2003 Texas chopper Harley fat boy and sportster 1200
    First Name:
    Domo
    Reaaaaalllly old bump but is there any way that you can repost the pictures. I’ve gotta do this project again.
     
  6. Th3InfamousI

    Th3InfamousI Administrator
    Staff Member Lifetime Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    16,570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Unfortunately this is a very old thread back in 2012 and with multiple forum upgrades and the PhotoBucket 3rd party issue we lost quite a few of these.

    Overall the stator job is pretty easy and the write-up if you follow along will be pretty self explanatory once you open it up. However, is there any particular picture you are looking for? I just replaced mine recently so have pics but not broke down like the above.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  7. TapioK

    TapioK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,337
    Likes Received:
    5,283
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Naples, FL / Finland
    My Bike(s):
    K9 -08, Chopper -03, Fat Boy (-97), BMW 1150GS -95
    First Name:
    Tapio
    Eric, did you go 40amp? I’m just trying to figure why. To my understanding our battery can charge at max 30 Amp, and we have no huge stereos etc on bike to eat Amps...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  8. Th3InfamousI

    Th3InfamousI Administrator
    Staff Member Lifetime Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    16,570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    No I didn't go with the 40 it's almost 2x the price.

    I agree it's not really needed on our bikes, however it does charge at 14.4v at idle whereas the 32 does not. Minor detail.

    The one caveat for the 40amp is heated gear, which is nice to have on long hauls. I am an idiot and didn't bring the jacket with me on my last trip and I paid for it on a few early mornings just makes it much more comfortable. Anyways, my jacket and gloves draw about 8amps on High which is still fine for 32 but If you have a passenger with heated gear it might be worthwhile to go 40.

    Also, if you go with the compufire doesn't matter if it's 32 or 40 you'll need to grind down the bosses on the inner primary to get the rotor to fit.

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    francoblay1 and TapioK like this.
  9. Ernie12

    Ernie12 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2018
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    319
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Ohio
    My Bike(s):
    02 BD Pro Sport for sale, 08 K9
    First Name:
    Ernie
  10. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    francoblay1 likes this.
  11. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    Depends on the year if you have to grind them down -- I've done 2 08 K-9's to the CompuFire 40A nad neither required any grinding.
    I went 40A since I am thinking about heated gear and some add-on electronics and I love that it charges at idle.
    Overkill but that's how I roll sometimes -- go big or stay home!
     
    francoblay1 and TapioK like this.
  12. Th3InfamousI

    Th3InfamousI Administrator
    Staff Member Lifetime Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    16,570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    did you happen to take the inner primary off when you did the install? I did that on one install and it does fit and I ran it for about 10k miles but down the road I couldn't get the rotor off with just the primary cover because of how tight it was magnetized and you have to kinda of wiggle it off with the teeth. On is fine, off is hard

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
  13. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ
    I did not take my inner off.

    Kinda wish I had and replaced seals because I have since developed a small nagging leak.
     
  14. Jersey Big Mike

    Jersey Big Mike Well-Known Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    1,847
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Murrell's Inlet, SC
    My Bike(s):
    08 K-9, 02 BMC 918ST
    First Name:
    Mike
    There are threaded hole in the rotor that you can put bolts in and use them as a puller.
    The bolts are different sizes for Compufire and Stock big Dog.

    I had the inner off the last time, only beacuse I was replacing the transmission as well.
    My charging system was OK, I just figured now was the time to do an upgraded that I wanted. (since it was apart already.)
     
  15. cd24747

    cd24747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Camillus N.Y.
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Texas Chopper previously 2003 Texas chopper Harley fat boy and sportster 1200
    First Name:
    Domo
    I can not for the life of me figure out how to get the rotor off so I can get to the stator. Any ideas?
     
  16. Th3InfamousI

    Th3InfamousI Administrator
    Staff Member Lifetime Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11,159
    Likes Received:
    16,570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Texas
    My Bike(s):
    04 Ridgeback & 07 K9
    First Name:
    Eric
    Put threaded bolts in the rotor holes and just pull it off

    Sent from my 2PS64 using Tapatalk
     
    Jwooky likes this.
  17. lowrider47

    lowrider47 Pooch

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    marshall minnesota
    My Bike(s):
    big dog chopper, fxr lowrider, sportster
    First Name:
    marti
    Good write-up, I did mine two years ago and yes step #6 can drive you crazy! I forgot my hex screw and just about wrecked my plug trying to get it out.
     
  18. Big Kev

    Big Kev Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Newport News, Va
    My Bike(s):
    2006 Mastiff
    First Name:
    Kevin
    I can’t see the pics either, I can see where the pics supposed to be. I understand there were upgrades causing old images not to be able to be viewed from older posts but I get the same [IMG] thing when trying to check out the Ass & Tits of the Day pics and that’s just unacceptable!!

    Any possible fix?
     
  19. cd24747

    cd24747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Camillus N.Y.
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Texas Chopper previously 2003 Texas chopper Harley fat boy and sportster 1200
    First Name:
    Domo
    Got the new stator and voltage regulator in. Bike is back together... starts with a jump but still not charging the battery. Any thoughts?
     
  20. Jwooky

    Jwooky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Oxford, MI
    My Bike(s):
    2008 Mastiff EFI
    First Name:
    JJ

Share This Page